Atlantic County New Jersey

Atlantic county was created in 1837 and named for its proximity to the ocean. The coastal shoreline contains Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge, Absecon and Lester G. MacNamara wildlife management areas, and several bay inlets, including Little, Reeds, Lakes, Sculls, and Absecon bays. County woodlands, which mainly consist of shortleaf pines, feature the area known as the Pine Barrens. A reliably Democratic community, it is the 15th largest of the New Jersey’s 21 counties.

Population: 274,549

Major Roadways: Garden State Parkway, Atlantic City Expressway, US Route 9, US Route 30, US Route 40, US Route 206 and US Route 322

School Districts: 24